Narnia The Lion The Witch And The Wardrobe : C.S Lewis

The Lion The Witch And The Wardrobe is probably a familiar title to most. However I neglected to read this popular childhood Classic when I was young . Yet when I spied a book containing a collection of the entire Narnia series by C.S Lewis for 99p In a charity shop I had a moment of childish excitement and had to get it. I knew from experience that the Lion The Witch And The Wardrobe was one of my favourite films as a child so I had high hopes for the story. And it did not fail me. I loved the plot line and the characterisation (Mr tummus being my favourite character) and although I’ve never been a massive fan of fantasy, I was not let down by this story. Someone recommended C.S Lewis to me a while back (A person at my church possibly because C.S Lewis’s stories or adult books are quite heavily Christian) However what I have read so far of his children’s writing this has not been the case and I wouldn’t let it put you off because his writing style is lovely.

I think the main thing I loved about this classic tale was the narrative. His style was really warm and Whitty, and made you become very engaged and fond of the story as it went along and the characters. There were quite a few sections where you could sense the writer himself coming through the narrative as he had added his own real life wisdom to the fiction story which I loved (as I’m not one for shallow writing even if the plot is great)

The main theme or moral of the story that I took from it was honesty. There is a lot of character development surrounding this theme. For example, at the beginning of the book after Lucy first finds Narnia, her older brothers and sister do not believe her tale. They think she is lying, or has gone mad as it is not a logical story. They take it to the professor (who they are staying with in his country mansion after being evacuated from the London blitz, this house is also where they find the wardrobe and entrance into Narnia)  They expect the Professor to support that it is a lie as the truth seems impossible or stupid. But he only tells them that if they know a person to have been honest in the past they must assume they are telling the truth if they have no other evidence to support otherwise. The reader is taught subtle lessons like this throughout the story. Another example in the story surrounding the theme of honesty is an action that is taken by one of the main characters in complete Juxtaposition with it. Edward the youngest brother of the four siblings goes into Narnia on his own after Lucy has been the first time, however encounters the main antagonist of the story The White Witch. She feeds him enchanted Turkish delight and tells him to come to her castle if he wants more, but only with his other brother and sisters. Edward is then set to achieve this goal at any cost and deceives his brothers and sister’s numerous times, but this then leads to devastating consequences for him when he is imprisoned by the White Witch later on in the story. In relation to this another theme is forgiveness, after his brothers and sisters forgive him for deceiving them.

I wouldn’t like to give away to much of the story but overall this tale deffinetly deserves its place as a classic. It is an exciting , warm , impactful fantasy story that is perfect to cosy up with at bed time (even In adulthood) 🙂

 

Author: TalesOfAScottishLassie

I like bands and books :)

Leave a Reply

